Pupil Protect

Reports

School jobs in England: autumn 2026

What schools in England were advertising on 20 October 2026: teaching, safeguarding and DSL, pastoral, attendance, behaviour, SEND and leadership jobs, from the Department for Education’s Teaching Vacancies.

Snapshot of 20 October 2026. 1,775 open adverts. How we counted · Download the tables (CSV) · Cite this report

Key figures

  • 1,775open job adverts in the seven role groups we track, from 1,351 schools and trusts
  • 34safeguarding and DSL adverts (1.9% of 1,775)
  • 3.9%of adverts name the designated safeguarding lead role in the text (70 of 1,775)
  • 1,247teaching adverts, of which 426 (34%) are marked suitable for early career teachers
  • 7.9adverts per 100 state-funded schools in England (1,725 adverts with a region, 21,956 schools)
  • 2adverts say a Skilled Worker visa can be sponsored (of 1,775)

Counts are of adverts open on Teaching Vacancies on the snapshot date, not of vacancies or posts. One advert can sit in more than one role group (142 do), so the groups add up to more than the total.

Open adverts by role group

Role groups come from each advert’s job title and Teaching Vacancies category. Base: 1,775 adverts.

Open adverts by role group, 20 October 2026
Role groupAdvertsShare
Safeguarding and DSL
34
1.9%
Pastoral and welfare
331
19%
Attendance
64
3.6%
Behaviour
29
1.6%
SEND and inclusion
106
6.0%
Teachers
1,247
70%
Headteachers and senior leaders
114
6.4%

Adverts by region

The bars show adverts per 100 open state-funded schools in each region, from Get Information about Schools (20 October 2026). This adjusts for regions having different numbers of schools. It does not adjust for school size. 50 adverts, placed by trusts in their own name, have no region and are left out of the rates.

Open adverts by region, 20 October 2026
RegionPer 100 schoolsAdvertsTeachingTeaching per 100Schools
London
8.4
2141475.72,560
South East
10.2
3432587.73,364
South West
9.0
2131506.32,367
East of England
9.9
2531877.32,565
East Midlands
9.0
1891426.82,090
West Midlands
6.9
1691134.62,437
Yorkshire and the Humber
8.0
1781125.02,238
North West
4.3
138882.83,195
North East
2.5
28221.91,140
Not stated
–
5028––
England (with a region)
7.9
1,7251,2195.621,956

Safeguarding and DSL roles

34 adverts had “safeguarding”, “DSL” or “DDSL” in the job title. That is 1.9% of all adverts. Many DSLs are headteachers or senior leaders whose adverts don’t name the role in the title, so this undercounts jobs that include DSL duties.

By kind of role

Role, from the titleAdvertsAdvertised pay
Designated safeguarding lead7£28,393 to £81,120 (n=6)
Deputy designated safeguarding lead9£25,978 to £42,764 (n=8)
Other safeguarding role18£22,644 to £53,029 (n=16)

Pay is the lowest and highest annual figure across adverts that gave one, including part-time and pro-rata figures.

By phase

PhaseAdverts
Primary6
Secondary16
All-through3
Special3
Alternative provision1
16 to 19 and FE3
Not stated2

Contract and hours

ContractAdverts
Permanent29
Fixed term5
HoursAdverts
Full time28
Part time5
Full or part time1

Across full-time-only safeguarding adverts with an annual figure (n=27), the median advertised range was £37,300 to £40,400. Some of these adverts also fall in other groups: pastoral and welfare (18), attendance (2), SEND and inclusion (1), teachers (2).

Pastoral, attendance, behaviour and SEND roles

Contract and hours for each group, as a share of that group’s adverts. Median pay is for full-time-only adverts that gave an annual figure; it is shown where there are at least 10.

Pastoral, attendance, behaviour and SEND adverts, 20 October 2026
Role groupAdvertsPermanentFixed termFull time onlyPart time onlyMedian pay range
Pastoral and welfare33184%16%64%30%£28,300 to £30,400 (n=195)
Attendance6494%6.3%73%19%£27,700 to £30,500 (n=41)
Behaviour29100%0%72%24%£26,800 to £29,100 (n=21)
SEND and inclusion10683%17%62%33%£34,100 to £48,200 (n=43)

Fixed term includes maternity and parental leave cover (12 adverts across these four groups, where one advert can be in more than one group). Shares may not add to 100% because some adverts are casual, or open to full or part time.

How often adverts mention safeguarding

Two measures from each advert’s description. “Mentions safeguarding” counts any use of the word, including the standard statement that a school is committed to safeguarding and promoting children’s welfare, so it shows how often safeguarding is mentioned, not how many jobs carry safeguarding duties. “Names the DSL role” counts adverts that mention a designated safeguarding lead or deputy, for example “DSL”, “DDSL” or “designated safeguarding lead”.

Adverts mentioning safeguarding by role group, 20 October 2026
Role groupMentions safeguardingNames the DSL roleAdverts
Safeguarding and DSL
100%
71%
34
Pastoral and welfare
74%
13%
331
Attendance
73%
7.8%
64
Behaviour
66%
10%
29
SEND and inclusion
61%
5.7%
106
Teachers
53%
0.6%
1,247
Headteachers and senior leaders
60%
7.0%
114
All adverts
58%
3.9%
1,775

Bars run from 0 to 100%. The safeguarding and DSL group is defined by its job titles, so it would be expected to score high on both measures.

Teaching adverts by phase and region

Phase is as the advert gives it, except that special schools and alternative provision are identified from the school’s type in Get Information about Schools. Base: 1,247 teaching adverts.

Teaching adverts by phase, 20 October 2026
PhaseAdvertsShare
Primary
482
39%
Secondary
539
43%
All-through
34
2.7%
Special
88
7.1%
Alternative provision
16
1.3%
16 to 19 and FE
64
5.1%
Nursery
3
0.2%
Not stated
21
1.7%

By region

Teaching adverts by region and phase, 20 October 2026
RegionPrimarySecondaryAll-throughSpecialOtherAll
London54694119147
South East1068962631258
South West54615822150
East of England84826114187
East Midlands7058464142
West Midlands34642121113
Yorkshire and the Humber35544811112
North West374514188
North East71122022
Not stated16002128

Other: middle schools, 16 to 19 and FE, nursery, alternative provision, and trust adverts with no school.

Early career teachers and visa sponsorship

426 of 1,247 teaching adverts (34%) were marked “suitable for early career teachers” by the school.

PhaseSuitable for ECTsTeaching adverts
Primary132 (27%)482
Secondary231 (43%)539

2 of 1,775 adverts said a Skilled Worker visa could be sponsored (2 of them teaching). Every other advert said visas could not be sponsored, or didn’t say.

Advertised pay

Medians of the lowest and highest annual figure in each advert, for full-time-only adverts that gave a figure in pounds. Rounded to the nearest £100.

Median advertised annual pay by role group, 20 October 2026
Role groupMedian lower figureMedian upper figureAdverts used (n)No annual figure
Safeguarding and DSL£37,300£40,40027 of 3412%
Pastoral and welfare£28,300£30,400195 of 33112%
Attendance£27,700£30,50041 of 6413%
Behaviour£26,800£29,10021 of 296.9%
SEND and inclusion£34,100£48,20043 of 10633%
Teachers£34,100£51,000498 of 1,24740%
Headteachers and senior leaders£67,900£79,10064 of 11440%

“No annual figure” covers adverts that gave pay only as a grade or scale (“MPS/UPS”, “Grade 7”), only as an hourly rate, or not at all. Teaching adverts often give only a pay scale, so the teaching medians rest on fewer than half of teaching adverts.

Methodology

Sources

Job adverts: Teaching Vacancies, the Department for Education’s free job service for schools in England, read from its public API and each advert’s page on 20 October 2026. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

Schools: Get Information about Schools (GIAS), the DfE’s register of schools, file of 20 October 2026, for school type and the number of schools in each region. Ofsted’s management information on state-funded school inspections is held alongside, but no figure in this report uses it. Both are under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

Snapshot

Adverts open on Teaching Vacancies when the data was read on 20 October 2026. 1,591 of the 1,775 (90%) were posted in the 30 days before; the oldest was first listed on 21 February 2024. This is one day’s snapshot, not a count across the term.

What’s counted

Only adverts in the seven role groups we track: safeguarding and DSL, pastoral and welfare, attendance, behaviour, SEND and inclusion, teachers, and headteachers and senior leaders. Other school jobs on Teaching Vacancies, such as teaching assistants, admin, catering and site staff, are not included unless their title puts them in one of these groups. Role groups are assigned from the job title and the advert’s Teaching Vacancies category, using fixed patterns; an advert can be in more than one group.

Region is the region on the advert. Contract type, hours, phase, “suitable for early career teachers” and visa sponsorship are as the school entered them on Teaching Vacancies.

Per 100 schools: adverts in a region divided by the number of open state-funded schools there in GIAS (academies, free schools, local authority maintained schools including nurseries and pupil referral units, and community and foundation special schools), times 100. Independent schools, non-maintained special schools and FE colleges are not in the denominator, though a few adverts come from sixth form colleges.

Pay

From each advert’s pay rows marked as yearly, preferring the full-time-equivalent row, then the pay scale row, then actual salary. In that row, the first figure in pounds between £10,000 and £200,000 is the lower figure. If it is followed by a range (“to”, or a dash) and a second figure, that is the upper figure; otherwise the two are the same. Smaller amounts, such as TLRs and SEN allowances, are skipped.

Medians use only adverts for full-time posts (not part time, and not “full or part time”), so that pro-rata salaries for part-time posts don’t pull them down. Hourly rates are left out. Some full-time support roles are term-time only and quote the actual salary, which is less than the full-year figure. Medians are not shown for groups with fewer than 10 usable adverts.

Safeguarding mentions

The advert’s description, with formatting removed, is searched without regard to case. “Mentions safeguarding”: the text contains “safeguard” (safeguard, safeguarding, safeguarded). “Names the DSL role”: the text contains “DSL” or “DDSL” as a word, “designated safeguarding lead”, “designated safeguarding officer”, “designated safeguarding person” or “safeguarding lead”.

Limitations
  • Adverts are not vacancies. One advert can be for several posts, and some posts are advertised more than once.
  • Teaching Vacancies is one of several places schools advertise. Many jobs are advertised only on school, trust, council or commercial sites, so these figures are not a count of all school jobs in England. The same job can also appear on several sites. This report counts only Teaching Vacancies adverts, each once by its web address, but a school can post the same job twice.
  • Teaching Vacancies records the job role the school chooses. Some adverts listed as “Teacher or lecturer” are for other posts, such as cover supervisors, early years practitioners or minibus drivers. We count them as listed. By their job titles, about 100 of the 1,247 teaching adverts are for posts other than teacher.
  • 5 adverts are open-ended, such as speculative applications or pools of early career teachers, rather than for a particular post.
  • A single day’s snapshot reflects the time of year. Autumn term figures are not comparable with spring or summer without adjusting for that.
  • Role groups, pay figures and safeguarding mentions come from free text with fixed patterns, so some adverts will be misclassified or have pay we could not read.
  • Small groups (fewer than about 30 adverts) can change a lot from one day to the next.
Trends

From 20 October 2026 we keep a daily summary of the same figures, so later reports can show change over time.

Cite this report

Title
School jobs in England: autumn 2026
Publisher
Pupil Protect
Snapshot date

Pupil Protect (2026). School jobs in England: autumn 2026. Snapshot of 20 October 2026. https://pupilprotect.co.uk/reports/school-jobs-autumn-2026

You may reuse the figures in this report under the Open Government Licence v3.0, crediting Pupil Protect and linking to this page. The report contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.